There are two distinct types of Azaleas. Evergreen Azaleas, (sometimes called Japanese azaleas) keep their leaves in winter, and typically grow to 40-80cm (18"-30") in 10 years. Deciduous Azaleas are taller, reaching 120-150cm (4'-5') in 10 years, and lose their leaves in the autumn, often with some wonderful colours first. Both are members of the Rhododendron family.

Deciduous Azaleas originate from Turkey, America and Asiatic areas such as Japan and Taiwan. The yellow luteum from Turkey is as hardy and as popular as ever with its scented flowers, while the American species are more subtle and extend the flowering season into the summer. The Asiatic species are more delicate in habit and in flower, and all the more beautiful too. Best in partial shade, and perfect at the edge of woodland.

The plant collector E H Wilson introduced his famous Wilson’s 50 Evergreen Azaleas in 1920 having selected the best 50 Kurume azaleas from Japan. Since then, numerous hybrids have been bred around the world, some them not hardy enough for British conditions. We have selected good performers for a spectacular show every May.

  • Deciduous Azaleas

    Deciduous Azaleas

    Deciduous Azaleas make a dazzling display, particularly in yellows and oranges. ...

    View All
  • Evergreen Azaleas

    Evergreen Azaleas

    Evergreen Azaleas, sometimes known as Japanese Azaleas, are as popular as ever, ...

    View All
  • Azaleodendrons


    Azaleodendrons are a group of hybrids between Deciduous Azaleas and Evergreen Rh...

    View All